Author Topic: Hello fromMaine, USA  (Read 559 times)

Offline RickFromMaine

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
Hello fromMaine, USA
« on: January 01, 2018, 04:05:59 PM »
Greetings,

Allow me to introduce myself as a new member.

My name is Rick Bouchard, from Scarborough, Maine.

I am one of two coordinators for the Casco Bay Scribes, a guild of lettering artists in Southern Maine..., who once had the honor of having Erica McPhee as a member.  We miss her! 

I have been doing calligraphy since 1992, have done weddings, certificates and other things as a part-time business and now just do it solely for fun!  I have studied with a number of teachers including:  Peter Halliday, Thomas Hoyer, Barbara Gullbrand, Victoria Pittman, Maggie McNeice, Nancy Leavitt, Kate McCulla, Kathy Milici & Dan Mooney, Margo Ditmer, Sheila Waters, Ted Kadin, and Nancy Culmone.   How do I remember all those names?  Because I have a calligraphy tackle box that I bring to all my workshops…, and, afterward, I ask the teacher to sign it. 

My second bedroom is a calligraphy studio.  Recently, I have embarked on learning Spencerian and Copperplate, two hands that I have admired for a long time.

I am glad to have found this forum.

Yours in the ink,

RickFromMaine
[email protected]
Scarborough, Maine
Yours in the ink, Rick Bouchard
[email protected] / Casco Bay Scribes
Southern, Maine, USA

Offline Erica McPhee

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member
  • Be brave. Love life!
    • View Profile
Re: Hello fromMaine, USA
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2018, 03:50:26 PM »
Hi Rick,
I'm so happy to see you here on Flourish! I was amazed you could remember all those names! I'm happy to see you were able to attend that workshop with Kathy and Dan in Portland. I was tempted to get on a plane and fly up there. Would love to see your piece from that.