Author Topic: Dip nibs for novice  (Read 3381 times)

Offline Clive-Andrew

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
Dip nibs for novice
« on: February 12, 2017, 12:07:38 PM »
Hi to all.

If this question has already been asked and answered please forgive me. I am very new to Calligrapyhy i have a straight holder and an oblique one on its way, i have only two nibs in my possession, Brause 361 and a Zebra G nib. What can i expect to achieve with these two nibs? which other nibs do you reccommend? I'm not exactly sure what style of writing i will be aiming for, i am just getting used to the way these work. I write every day with around ten to twelve various fountain pens all with different colour ink, and this pleases me.

In advance thank you to all replies and suggestions.

Clive-Andrew

Offline Empty_of_Clouds

• Seeker
    • View Profile
Re: Dip nibs for novice
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2017, 01:48:10 PM »
I am still a novice... well, not even that advanced really... but I find the zebra G to be somewhat harsh. I use them but prefer the Esterbrook Falcon #48 nib for a firm point with a touch of flexibility.  My preferred nib is a Gillott 404.  Cannot afford them, especially at the silly prices vintage stuff goes for.  A close second is the Blanzy-Poure Departementale Cementee #2552.  These can be found in whole boxes at reasonable prices and are very forgiving for us beginners.

Other than that, I leave it to the experts to advise.

Offline AndyT

• Super Hero Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2017, 04:27:33 PM »