Author Topic: Hello there!  (Read 883 times)

Offline Shrey-Z

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
Hello there!
« on: June 12, 2017, 03:47:59 PM »
Hello from Virginia! :D

After years of admiring others' handwriting and penmanship :), I finally gathered the courage to try it myself ;). An electrical engineer by profession, I never felt I had any creativity. But calligraphy is something I truly appreciate, so I hope to seek the creativity and channel it through writing!

I'm glad I took the dive and landed in the FF!! 8) This is a great place to learn and share with great, helpful, skilled members! :D

I am just a week old newbie in this world, and already amazed by the skills everyone has developed in this fine art...still trying to find my way through all the excellent posts and tips...

Shrey-Z
Using: Nikko G nib with a straight Koh-I-Noor cork tipped holder...

ash0kgiri

Re: Hello there!
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2017, 03:49:41 AM »
Warm welcome Shreyz. Love your name :D
So what script you interested to start with... Waiting to see your Practice drills here. And dont forget to update your IG icon on your FF profile. :D

Keep writing,
-Ashok

Offline Shrey-Z

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2017, 03:46:14 PM »
Thank you, thank you Ashok!  :D  :D

I'm so pleased to see your reply! I stumbled upon your IG profile just yesterday and promptly followed it. You have posted amazing work!!! Really an inspiration!!
Seeing such great work I keep going from being inspired ::) to wanting to quit :o because it's so good!!

I have always been interested in calligraphy and now I know that the style I like is the copperplate with plenty of flourishes! ;D
But that's wishful thinking. I've just begun and trying to figure out which way to take to get there!

So far I've only been trying some straight calligraphy to get used to the upward strokes without catching on the paper, and creating graceful downstrokes without applying abrupt pressure... ;D