Author Topic: Greetings from Germany  (Read 1643 times)

Offline Kukyukuwai

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
Greetings from Germany
« on: January 02, 2018, 01:58:40 PM »
Hello Dear “Federfreunde”,

Thank you for accepting me to be part of this special community—I am wishing everybody here the best new year full of wonderful experiences, particularly flourishing ones! :P

My interest in calligraphy goes way back—even before starting school—and although we've had a calligraphy class during elementary school, I eventually ended up writing less by hand as soon as my parents brought me the first computer. During my high-school and college days in Bucharest, I became a big fan of Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator, which I still am, but lately I'm rather interested in creating something more personal—especially when it comes to typefaces, calligraphy and lettering.

I am just starting to learn Copperplate. At the moment, I am using a straight pen holder which I bought from an art store here in my town and while I am still looking for an oblique holder to continue my practice of the majuscules 'with the right hand' and grip so to speak, it's pretty difficult to find one in Germany which isn't made out of plastic. I would love to give the adjustable hourglass oblique from Paper & Ink Arts a try, but I'm not sure if I should actually spend around 100,-€ given that I never used an oblique pen before. Chances are good to find here advice and louds of information which I'm sure will help me in taking the right decision in regards to pen holders and to expand my general calligraphy knowledge.

Enjoy the full moon tonight and I'm looking forward to share with you! P.S. Suigetsu (intoxicated by the moon) by Sen-No-Rikyu, ca. 1575.

”The quiet was part of the meaning, part of the mind: The access of perfection to the page.“ — Wallace Stevens

Offline Erica McPhee

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member
  • Be brave. Love life!
    • View Profile
Re: Greetings from Germany