Author Topic: Nib Review  (Read 44877 times)

Offline Zivio

• Foment Compassion, Practice Peace
    • View Profile
Re: Nib Review
« Reply #60 on: August 28, 2023, 06:43:48 PM »

I'm very new to calligraphy. So new that the paint hasn't dried yet.
I am learning as much as I can about nibs and paper and ink and, and, and, and,.... make it stopppp! ...

@Carpio I also am new to calligraphy ... so much so, that I won't even attempt to provide any particular technical advice about nibs and ink and paper and pressure and .... yes, make it stopppp! There are many skilled and helpful people here on the forum that will provide that.

What I will offer is moral support through some encouragement. My first year of learning Spencerian I practiced only with fountain pen. To try to keep things simple, I didn't attempt to learn any shading and was just writing monoline. After the first year I purchased my first dip pen and oblique holder, and everything changed!  It was honestly as though I'd started completely over. I just could not figure out how to make that new writing utensil work, and it was very frustrating!  I encourage you to continue to do what you are doing: keep researching, studying, trying new things and asking questions of others on the Forum. 

As @Erica McPhee wrote, "It can take some trial and error to find the right combination that works for you." This was certainly true in my case. I did learn, though, that the choice of ink can, and did, make a huge difference for me!  Switching from Higgins Eternal (infernal) Ink to Tom Norton's Walnut made things just start to work for me, in a fashion. No doubt, everyone's experience will differ in this respect, but I was completely taken by surprise that just the ink used would have that profound an effect! From there, I tried some papers and got an assortment of nibs. I took a tremendous amount of experimentation, but little by little I was able to make the pen work.