Author Topic: What is the good time to learn Spencerian ?  (Read 4215 times)

Offline C_Yan

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
What is the good time to learn Spencerian ?
« on: January 28, 2017, 12:38:26 AM »
Hello, I am new to dip pen and practicing Engrosser's Script for 6 months.  During the time I try Spencerian Script as well.  After a while, I find that if  I keep practicing Spencerian Script, I will only have very little time to work on Engrosser .  I regard Engrossser's Script as a foundation that I must handle well.  Am I right?  Should i  stop Spencerian until my Engrosser's skill is solid enough?  Or they are just two different styles, there is no harm to place more emphasis on  Spencerian ?

p.s It is my first post in Flourish Forum  :D Nice to be here~~

Offline Myles Ink Calligraphy

• View Profile
    • Myles Ink
Re: What is the good time to learn Spencerian ?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2017, 05:40:02 PM »
First of all, welcome to the forum!
You are definitely correct that Engrosser's script is a foundational script that a penman (or a pen-woman) should handle. However, there is great importance that you keep in touch with the Spencerian hand. The Spencerian Script focuses on both beauty and practicality of the letter-form. Practising both of the script will help you understand in contrast the universal template of letter-forms, such as the line of universal beauty, and as well as the practicality of letter-forms. Also, Spencerian penmanship will definitely help you to improve your motor skills that is required for all calligraphic style, which will come in handy when mastering Engrosser's script.
In summary, I suggest you sample with Spencerian, just to understand the mechanics of the script and use the skills in Spencerian to further develop your Engrosser's script. And there shouldn't be any opposing harm if you place more emphasis on Spencerian.
To miss a mark is to sin.
Et Hoc Transibit
Write on!

Offline AndyT

• Super Hero Member