Author Topic: My First Commission......  (Read 4427 times)

Offline r_b_calligraphy

• Freshman Member
  • Saving the world, one calligraphy stroke at a time
    • View Profile
My First Commission......
« on: May 14, 2016, 03:17:58 PM »
A friend of mine saw that I was getting into calligraphy and asked me to pen Romans 12:12. Well I felt so flattered by the request, seeing as how I'm still relatively new to the whole world and that they wanted to pay me, I really went out my way to try to make it as special as I could with my current abilities. I really wanted to add a gold border but wasn't quite sure about the process and didn't trust myself to  not mess it up hehe. If anyone had any advice on that, it would be helpful. In any case I kinda like how this turned out for once :)

Offline NikkiB

• View Profile
Re: My First Commission......
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2016, 11:26:09 AM »
You did a great job!

Maybe you could make the smaller apeture mount in gold? That way, you could get the gold border you want without risking your lovely work X
Nikki x

Offline AndyT

• Super Hero Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2016, 01:14:58 PM »
Looking good.  :)

For lines on mount boards, you really need a ruling pen.  They're very reliable so long as you keep it upright, and you can control the width to a nicety.  The top one in the picture is of the highly desirable hinged variety, which is much easier to clean.

Offline Inkysloth

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2016, 05:15:35 PM »
That's beautifully done - I doff my cap to you!

I manage to get crisp lines with gold ink using a regular dip nib, and a ruler flipped upside down (so the bevelled edge is raised above the writing surface). So if you do want to try, it is possible! However, I really do need to get the hang of a ruling pen as they are supposed to be better.

Offline r_b_calligraphy

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2016, 06:18:48 PM »
Looking good.  :)