Author Topic: Handwriting fluency tips - feedback?  (Read 1810 times)

Offline Zivio

• Foment Compassion, Practice Peace
    • View Profile
Handwriting fluency tips - feedback?
« on: May 29, 2022, 12:48:44 AM »
      I am a novice student of Spencerian script, my objective being to use this script for everyday handwriting and correspondence.  I have no illusions of being a Calligrapher (capital “C”), per se, but do hope to improve to the point of my writing to be more than presentable.

Until now my daily practice has been focused on drills, individual letters and single words.  I’m at the place where I’ve begun moving forward to “free-writing” (brain to paper) full sentences to begin gaining some fluency in writing. In doing so, I’ve discovered a few things that seem to help if and when I’m able to be conscious of them while writing.  Coordinating them all at the same time has been a big challenge, so I decided to write them out as a list of reminders to review before, and periodically while practicing.

I’d love to know if anyone could share feedback on my list and any other thoughts about the kinds of things that have helped achieve greater fluency in your writing.  It’s interesting to me how sometimes different descriptions of a complex physical movement can be just what’s needed to learn something helpful! 

Here are my reminders:

• Relax. Always.
  • Apply a conscious lightening of the forearm on all upstrokes to remove weight from the pen.
  • Slow down when producing looped ascenders – take time to make them well - speed can come later.
  • Keep wrist straight, slide hand on “finger rest” and use rhythmic push-pull motion to form miniscules, faster on upstrokes.  (I am learning solely muscular, whole arm writing movements.)
  • Sight a split second ahead of each letter stroke while imagining where it will fall on the page.  This is similar to what musicians do when sight-reading music – they constantly look ahead of the notes currently being played.