Author Topic: Can you help me?  (Read 3626 times)

Offline Starlee

• Super Hero Member
    • View Profile
Can you help me?
« on: May 04, 2019, 06:19:07 PM »
Hello!

I have a bit of an odd request. In addition to a love of letters, I am a scientist and a hobby naturalist. Something else I love to do is take pictures of sand at a microscope level. I would love to do this using samples from all over the world.

This is where you can help me dear FF friends. As the weather warms and we gravitate to the waterways, will you please think of me and send me some sand? I don't need much...a couple of teaspoons worth will do! I promise to give you credit and will send a letter in return.

Please message me and I will send me address if you have some sand to send my way.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2019, 06:21:37 PM by Starlee »
Star

Offline Inked botanicals

• View Profile
    • My Instagram
Re: Can you help me?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2019, 11:04:16 AM »
I live by the sea, and there are 3 beaches in a walking distance from my house. I can send you some samples and provide some information if you want it. One of them was not in a good shape and was fixed with sand from the bottom of the near sea, another one still has some coal from a many-years-ago accident. Maybe you get interesting photos from those.
Alba.

Instagram: @inked_botanicals

Offline Empty_of_Clouds

• Seeker
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2019, 09:11:52 PM »
Not to put a dampener on what sounds like a terrific project, but are there any biohazards involved with sending such material overseas?

Offline Starlee

• Super Hero Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2019, 11:49:29 AM »
@Inked botanicals that would be great!

@Empty_of_Clouds I double checked. Apparently a strip company tried that for their luau themed night in unmarked envelopes and it was taken for anthrax :S Another company will send sand (among other things) to your 'enemy'. :S :S This world just keeps getting more crazy.