Author Topic: A few questions from a newbie  (Read 5026 times)

Offline paintedletter

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
A few questions from a newbie
« on: April 19, 2014, 06:02:34 PM »
Hello!  I am very new at pointed pen and have been following the very helpful tutorials. I've been at it for a week and a half now and have a few questions that I'm hoping some of you could help me with. I started out for the first week with the Hunt 101 (Imperial) and really loved the thicks and thins it provided. I then ordered the Hunt 22, Nikko G and the Zebra G. I couldn't believe the difference in flexibility! The Hunt 101 is super flexible compared to the others. I think I prefer the Zebra G over all of them because it's flexible but not as flexible as the Hunt 101. Does anyone have any suggestions on something between the Hunt 101 and Zebra G? I like the Nikko G but it is a little stiff for me and seems to be a little scratchy. Here are some of my other questions:

1. I've heard of people having water to dip their nib every once in a while. Is this to help with paper fibers getting caught in the nib? I tend to have a problem with that with the sharper nibs.

2. I seem to have to dip my pen every 6-9 letters, sometimes more. Is this normal? It seems like I'm just getting in "the zone" when I have to dip and start all over again! If this is normal, I'll just learn to deal with it but I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong.

3. I am using the Hammermill 28lb copy paper and Higgins Eternal ink. The Higgins seems to bleed a little on the copy paper. Should I try the Sumi (Brown bottle or Moon Palace) or Walnut ink or try the HP Laser paper?

4. Is it best to write on an incline or on a flat surface?

Thank you so much for helping a newbie!

Tracie
« Last Edit: April 19, 2014, 06:05:22 PM by paintedletter »

Offline garyn

• View Profile
Re: A few questions from a newbie
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2014, 06:30:25 PM »
@Tracie