Author Topic: The Curious Artisan - Oblique holders worth the price?  (Read 14939 times)

Offline albscribe

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
The Curious Artisan - Oblique holders worth the price?
« on: August 22, 2016, 06:56:10 PM »
I've been doing some research on what oblique and straight penholders to buy and have come accross The Curious Artisan. I like their Bolo range very much but was taken aback by the price. I am new to calligraphy so not quite sure what prices I should expect to pay. Before buying one of these penholders (or not) I wanted to check if anyone had any experience with them they might be able to share?

Offline AndyT

• Super Hero Member
    • View Profile
Re: The Curious Artisan - Oblique holders worth the price?
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2016, 07:48:42 PM »
Hmm.  Well, without passing comment on the company you mention, perhaps it would be an idea to take a step back and consider what you get when you buy an oblique pen holder.  It's a stick with a piece of brass attached.  Anything in addition to that is unnecessary for the purposes of writing.  Now, a perfectly serviceable wooden holder can be had for $15 from Paper and Ink Arts which would get you up and running.  If you really want to spend ten times as much on your first holder, by all means do so, but you don't have to.

Regarding "ergonomic" holders: they're popular at the moment.  However, what's ergonomic for one person may very well be anything but for another.  Buying one sight unseen therefore is something of a shot in the dark.  Furthermore, if you have any intention of trying your hand at Ornamental Penmanship, just forget about them: they are designed to prevent the holder from moving in your hand, but it's essential to be able to apply a twist for Ornamental shades.  Far better in my opinion to stick with an ordinary shape and learn with that.