Author Topic: Don't cry over spilled ink. A newbie calligrapher's diary.  (Read 10079 times)

Offline ewigginton

• View Profile
Don't cry over spilled ink. A newbie calligrapher's diary.
« on: January 22, 2014, 03:46:45 PM »
Being a newbie I drool over a lot of work shown here and on IG that you pros easily self-criticize. I only hope some day my best work is equal to your rejects!  :)   In the meantime, I practice away hoping to get these old muscles to develop some memory. I just filled four entire pages full of capital Rs and there isn't a one that I would show on the board for criticism, no matter how gentle it was! This stuff can be hard but I work away knowing at some point I'll get better.

How about the rest of you newbies? Got any funny stories to share? Have you dipped your pen into your iced-tea yet? (You can substitute Coke, Pepsi, Root Beer, Dr. Pepper or any other brown consumable liquid and you will likely do it at some point ;).) How are you progressing? Any epiphanies? Do your friends/family think you're crazy because every time they see you you're hunched over your work area muttering, with dishes piled up in the sink and your unwashed children are beginning to look forward to visits from UPS because you get excited over a new ink or nib delivery?