Author Topic: Not "beautiful". I am a novice learner.  (Read 917 times)

Offline Lyric

• View Profile
Not "beautiful". I am a novice learner.
« on: July 01, 2020, 09:57:12 AM »
Thinking perhaps posting aids with accountability . . . maybe?

Either way, I started a new course three weeks ago Copperplate Foundations with @logos_calligraphy, Younghae C. This is practice work this week.  We have homework once a week on Sundays.

I can't stand red-marking my mistakes.  I know, necessary for learning and growth.  I find it kinda disheartening.  Funny thing, I do not mind person-to-person critiques.  But doing it myself . .. . weird, I dunno, don't like it.  :P
Cheerfully,
Lyric

Offline GrayStratCat

• Freshman Member
  • Lead, follow, or get out of the way....
    • View Profile
Re: Not "beautiful". I am a novice learner.
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2020, 09:47:42 AM »
@lyric you're coming along quite well!  I can't seem to enlarge your photos but from what I can see your consistency looks to be improving and that's one of the major hurdles.  If I can add just a few comments I would suggest striving for a bit heavier shading on the swells and finer hairlines to create more contrast in the given letter.  A lot of achieving  this contrast has to do with the nib you're using, the ink and the paper.  You may want to let us know what combination you're using.  I find experimenting with various inks, papers and nibs part of the enjoyment of calligraphy.

Be well,
GSC
“Wisdom is not a product of schooling but of the lifelong attempt to acquire it.”

Offline Lyric

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2020, 12:19:10 PM »
Wait, first let me get over a response.  I'm giddy . . . .. giggles.

Thank YOU for this advice.   :)

More than likely I was using HP 32# Premium paper (that has been my go-to).  Nib, I am all over the place leaning toward Blue Pumpkin and my new Leonardt Principle EF.  The ink I believe was Higgins Eternal Black