Author Topic: Spencerian with fountain pen - looking for feedback  (Read 1529 times)

Offline evad

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
Spencerian with fountain pen - looking for feedback
« on: January 06, 2020, 04:05:10 PM »
Hi all,

I recently started practicing Spencerian with the goal to improve my handwriting. My background is in Copperplate.

I'd like to ask you for feedback - what can I improve? And how?

As the goal is everyday handwriting, I'm using a Pelikan Souveran fountain pen with EF nib and not shading, so I'm not looking for feedback on that or majuscules (haven't practiced them yet).

X height is 3 mm.

Do you think learning whole arm movements would make a big difference in my situation? As a "finger writer" I tried following posture directions in the original Spencerian book (knuckles gliding on the paper) and completely lost control of the pen. I don't see how this could ever work, despite watching tons of videos.

I'm confused by conflicting directions I've read online. Some people say that you're supposed to write lowercase/smaller letters with fingers and use whole arm movement for uppercase and flourishes. Is this accurate?

Big thanks to our member who created these guidelines with double slant.

Offline jeanwilson

• Super Hero Member
    • View Profile
    • Pushing the Envelopes
Re: Spencerian with fountain pen - looking for feedback
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2020, 09:21:05 AM »
How well people do when they choose a new style depends on a few different components to the process.
The older you are before you start something new, the more solidified your muscle memory will be at your normal penmanship.
Forcing yourself out of patterns that are decades old can be challenging - but not impossible.
How many different styles have you previously mastered? Once you discipline yourself to master one style, there is a lot of carry-over when you begin with other styles. By learning many different styles, you learn *how-to-learn.*