Author Topic: My first ever attempt at italic...  (Read 2143 times)

Offline Cally

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
My first ever attempt at italic...
« on: September 27, 2015, 07:10:49 PM »
Hi everyone,

I have been practising copperplate for around 2 years now and thought it was about time I had a go at italic! I am really struggling with the letters 's' 'v' 'w' and 'x' so if anyone could help me with those or point me in the right direction that would be great. Also, if anyone can see somewhere I am going wrong, I would love to know - I'm hooked on practise now!

Cally

Offline Erica McPhee

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member
  • Be brave. Love life!
    • View Profile
Re: My first ever attempt at italic...
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2015, 08:25:22 PM »
You are off to a great start!

I find Italic a lot less forgiving than pointed pen. A consistent slant is critical. Also, slow down as you are really drawing each stroke to form the letters.

You have a nice oval going. And you have good letter forms forming, so now it will be about refining them, consistency, and rhythm.

V's are tricky. It's all about the slant. Your first one is tilted. But see your w after it? The v is really like the first part of the w but instead of the second stroke going up and to the right, it comes back to the left but the initiation of the stroke is the same.

For the w, see the exemplar following, the second stroke is a downward stroke and then the last stroke is like the finishing stroke of the v.

X and S are both just really tricky and take study of the letterform and practice.

Be sure to work from a good exemplar. For those who may not have one, this is a good one for lowercase: Italic lowercase.

This capitals one by John Stevens is as good as it gets!

Hope that helps!  :)
Warm Regards,
Erica
Lettering & Design Artist
Flourish Forum Shop
Instagram

Offline jeanwilson

• Super Hero Member
    • View Profile
    • Pushing the Envelopes