Author Topic: Broad-edge Nib Recommendation?  (Read 3832 times)

Offline nej

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
Broad-edge Nib Recommendation?
« on: June 27, 2014, 07:11:13 PM »
I having a hard time finding a good nib to practice with. I'm just starting out and have tried Brause, and Speedball; there's not much in my area and I can't order anything online atm :( In addition I'm a leftie and use the left-handed nibs.

I find both nibs very scratchy on the paper which causes them to veer off in strange directions.

Is this a nib issue or a noob one? Any tips? TIA!
« Last Edit: June 27, 2014, 07:13:36 PM by nej »

Offline Heebs

• View Profile
Re: Broad-edge Nib Recommendation?
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2014, 07:23:43 PM »
Could be any combination of technique, paper or nib really (even potentially ink). If the nib veers off path it might be the angle at which you're using it or the amount of pressure.

Have you tried your nibs on different papers? I don't know what nibs you would be able to get locally but if there's a big art store try looking for the Pilot Parallel pens, they were my introduction to broad edge and are very easy to use.

Offline Linda Y.

• Super Hero Member
  • Calligra-ninja
    • View Profile
    • my instagram
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2014, 01:46:27 AM »
I started off with the Brause set and used them for a few years - but when I got my first Parallel Pen I was like: Hallelujah!

I use the PP for practice mostly, but if I were to ever do a "formal" piece I would still use the good ole pen holder & nib. I find the Brause perfect for beginners. It's the right flexibility and smooth enough to not make you TOO frustrated. Just make sure to clean and dry the nib and reservoirs thoroughly and don't lose them down the drain.