Author Topic: Talking of tiny writing...  (Read 1466 times)

Offline jrvalverde

• Freshman Member
  • Crazy old person
    • View Profile
Talking of tiny writing...
« on: November 13, 2019, 03:03:06 AM »
Cutting a long story short...

This is from an ancient book. The large script looks to my untrained eyes as Visigothic. The two coins are 1 cent of Euro coins.

Offline jrvalverde

• Freshman Member
  • Crazy old person
    • View Profile
The long story
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2019, 03:33:48 AM »
When I was young, Psychoanalysis was still a major trend in Psychiatry and Freud's and Young's works were very popular, specially "The interpretation of dreams". As soon as I could I bought myself Freud's works. Among them I found this in one of his correspondence letters:
When I was a young student, the thrive to read the immortal "Don Quixote" in Cervante's original led me to learn, without teacher, the beautiful Spanish language.
Sigmund Freud. Vienna. 7 may, 1923

Which I thought was pretty cool! And from then on, I strived to read, whenever possible, literary works in their original language. Even when I do not know the language, I still try to get the books, often, if possible, as bilingual editions (original and translated). Over the years I have collected what I consider a lovely library.

Flash forward 35 years. I recently found on a book fair this book, which I found interesting for several reasons. First, it was  fac-simile of an ancient manuscript, second, the manuscript was in an attractive round hand, and mostly, I was told it contained in the side comments some of the earliest words in Spanish and Euskera (Vasque). The glosae (annotations) also seem to contain some words of German origin.