Author Topic: Zentangle newbie  (Read 3743 times)

Offline KateMothers

• Freshman Member
  • Beginner
    • View Profile
Zentangle newbie
« on: January 14, 2015, 05:44:28 PM »
Since I'm new to calligraphy again (after a 25+ year break)... while ordering supplies online I kept running across references to Zentangles. What is it? Still not sure, lol, but decided to jump in. I ordered from Amazon and my parcel arrived today. I now have:

Yoga for your Brain by Sandy Steen Bartholomew
Totally Tangled by Sandy Steen Bartholomew
One Zentangle a Day: a 6-week course in creative drawing, for relaxation, inspiration, and fun by Beckah Krahula
Zentangle 1 Basics: Expanded Workbook edition by Suzanne McNeill
The Zentangle untangled workbook: a Tangle-a-day to draw your stress away by Kass Hall

Studio series Artitst's Tile Set, 75 acid-free titles (3.5 x 3.5 inches) 300gsm card stock, fine-tooth surface, no ink bleed for fine line control, good for dry and wet media including pen, pencil, pigment ink, pastel and watercolor

Pigma Micron Fine Line Set, Black. 005 - .20mm, 01 - .25mm, 02 - .30mm, 03 - .35mm, 05 - .45mm, and 08 - .50mm

I should be all set to start learning and playing now.  :)
Any suggestions, comments, etc are welcome since I've never actually done this before. lol

Offline Erica McPhee

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member
  • Be brave. Love life!
    • View Profile
Re: Zentangle newbie
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2015, 06:31:58 PM »
Hi Kate,
I LOVE zentangles because it is so relaxing, it's step by step, and when you're done, you think "Wow - I did that!".

I would recommend starting with the Zentangles 1 Basics book. It will walk you through how it works and beginning "tangles."

Maria Thomas, a fabulous pointed pen calligrapher, is one of the founders. You can follow their newsletters at: Zentangle. There is also some good learning info there.

Have fun and I hope you will share with us what you create!  :)
Warm Regards,
Erica
Lettering & Design Artist