Author Topic: Want to become an Expert?  (Read 448 times)

Offline AnasaziWrites

• Super Hero Member
  • Ad astra, per aspera
    • View Profile
Want to become an Expert?
« on: November 06, 2022, 11:31:24 AM »
It's more than 10,000 hours.
By chance, I ran across this video describing what it takes to become an expert. The video does not mention calligraphy or writing at any point, but it could easily could have. I found it fascinating, showing, among other things, the limitation of online demonstrations of a desired skill leading to expertise, and why the self-taught master (like Ken Fraser) is so rare.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5eW6Eagr9XA

Offline Zivio

• Foment Compassion, Practice Peace
    • View Profile
Re: Want to become an Expert?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2022, 03:21:35 PM »
I enjoyed this very much, and just about anything Veritasium does!  Thanks for sharing.  Being uncomfortable and the concept of "deliberate practice," as opposed to doing what is fun and comfortable, was a good reminder to inform my own study. I think the recent Inktober 2022 event was a great example of this for perhaps many of us. 

I also loved seeing Lara Somogyi's input on learning and playing harp, which is an activity that also challenges me, and perhaps @Lucie Y.  I'm only now approaching the first 1,000 hour mark in learning to write cursive again, so 10,000 is not likely in my lifetime in any case.  ;D
Foment Compassion, Practice Peace

Offline Lucie Y

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2022, 08:50:16 AM »
@Zivio Nice to hear from you! I somehow missed your post where you mentioned me but I'm glad I found it anyway
@AnasaziWrites thank you for the link

This video resonates on many levels for me. It's great but it hurts a little, as I see how I made the same learning mistakes over and over in several areas of my life (academic, musical and creative) and crashed and burned a couple of times because of it.