Author Topic: Why Heavens! from the ATL  (Read 1547 times)

Offline ValarieW

• View Profile
    • Dear Ondine
Why Heavens! from the ATL
« on: May 21, 2014, 01:31:16 PM »
Hi Flourishers!

My mom always told me I should be a surgeon. My hands were good with intricate movements and tiny details but unfortunately my stomach never got the memo. I was never going to make it as a surgeon if I couldn't make it through an episode of ER without looking away! My mom didn't seem to mind as I covered up her fridge with drawings, added a mouse-hole shaped cutout to our baseboard (complete with a welcome mat and mouse-sized TV room) and switched my major 3 years in from pre-med to photography. In college art classes I had found my people - You mean I'm not going to get in trouble for drawing during class? I will get in trouble if I don't?
   I graduated 6 years later with a degree in photography, the most varied transcript ever seen and a over-arching theme of adding text to almost all my works. Fast forward past the "I just graduated with an art degree what am I going to do with my life?" time period to last year. A copperplate course was being taught by a local teacher I admired and had wished during the-rice-and-bean-years I could one day take. I collected pennies from the couch cushions and signed up. I technically skipped "Calligraphy I: The Italic Years" for it's much prettier and more interesting (to me) cousin "Calligraphy II: Copperplate Lust." (side note: these are not actually the names of the classes but I think the instructor would be okay if they suddenly were changed). It was love at first Nikko-G. Technically, the first 3 since they come in a pack...and HOLY COW THESE TINY THINGS ARE $8?! I practiced. A lot. Like a lot, a lot. More than Cher Horowitz loves her red Jeep Wrangler.