Author Topic: Beginner ink troubles  (Read 1265 times)

Offline Loppetz

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
Beginner ink troubles
« on: April 07, 2019, 02:45:09 PM »
Hi everyone,
I'm very new to all this, and I have been practicing some copperplate, although starting off very pleased with how quickly i felt i was picking it up, I'm now feeling rather frustrated.
I have a Nikko G nib and Kuretake Sumi Ink.
At first I found i was not dipping my pen far enough into the ink and it was lasting a few seconds, and now I seem to have the opposite problem - what am I doing wrong? My first few strokes seem to have too much ink, making webs with my ink when trying to draw an upstroke from a downstroke and my downstrokes being  piled high with ink, taking forever to dry! I am doing a firm shake of the pen before starting to write.
I also sometimes find that the ink is running out and landing in a blob on the paper even when I am definitely fully loaded - is this just my nib needing a swish of water and a clean?

Any ink related newbie tips would be great, thank you!

Offline Bianca M

• Super Hero Member
  • Tempus Fugit
    • View Profile
    • Bianca Mascorro Calligraphy & Art
Re: Beginner ink troubles
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2019, 12:34:09 PM »
It is possible that your nib is not prepped completely. You need to get the coating that comes on a new nib entirely off.  There are many threads on here that discuss preparing your nib, how to do it and what methods people find work best for them, so try a search on "nib preparation" or "preparing nibs" and see if that helps.