Author Topic: First attempt at anything practical  (Read 1995 times)

Offline Moose

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
First attempt at anything practical
« on: January 03, 2019, 02:51:55 PM »
So, posting any work here is intimidating. I am an abject beginner at calligraphy and this is literally my first ... anything. Other than practice pages.

I scanned it in, cleaned it up, added the glider and the drop shadow, sized it, then printed it to a waterslide.  The monoline was a fountain pen, the main logo was a leonardt principal and Moon Palace sumi. 

This passtime is maddening... I must have written fifty Gs trying to learn the form and at least as many copies of "Green" still can't do two in a row they way I like them. And spacing. Man, if you want to make someone miserable, teach them about kerning then get them to care about it. They'll be annoyed for the rest of their life! But it's unique and mine, so enjoy my first attempt at letter art.

Offline Erica McPhee

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member
  • Be brave. Love life!
    • View Profile
Re: First attempt at anything practical
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2019, 12:33:53 AM »
It came out wonderful! Thanks for sharing with us.

Yes - it can be frustrating at times. But that’s when you need to relax and let go and just let it happen.

Well done! I look forward to seeing more.  ;D
Warm Regards,
Erica
Lettering & Design Artist
Flourish Forum Shop
Instagram

Offline mrunaljani

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2019, 01:34:57 AM »
its beautiful :)

Offline RD5

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2019, 05:56:03 AM »
It doesn't look like a first attempt.

I am confused, did you print it on the guitar ?

Offline AnasaziWrites

• Super Hero Member
  • Ad astra, per aspera
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2019, 08:41:38 AM »
Nicely done.

Offline Bianca M

• Super Hero Member
  • Tempus Fugit
    • View Profile
    • Bianca Mascorro Calligraphy & Art