Author Topic: Self-Learning a new script - a method that works  (Read 12903 times)

Offline Ken Fraser

• Super Hero Member
  • Calligrapher
    • View Profile
Self-Learning a new script - a method that works
« on: April 30, 2014, 04:33:21 AM »
I have a fairly comprehensive range of writing styles at my disposal, and I am frequently asked
(a) a method for learning a new hand and (b) how to avoid mixing them up in general usage.

It's possible to learn two different scripts at the same time, but it's best to avoid styles with some similarities, either in the lettering itself or in the tools used. For example, I would never advocate studying Copperplate and Spencerian, simultaneously. as the result could be unnecessarily confusing.

First of all, I should mention that I am entirely self-taught in all the scripts I use. I strongly believe in structured learning and in order to reach a reasonable standard, I had to devise a strict, self-learning method which works - so here goes.....

If I want to add a new script into my repertoire, I copy out the entire lowercase alphabet as closely as I can. I then study it in detail. Some of the letters may be fine straight off. I put them to one side, mentally, and write out the remainder again and again, each time missing out those which are OK. In this way, I may end up with a single letter which is still giving me trouble. I then spend however long it takes, writing only that letter over and over again, until it's right. If necessary, I enlarge individual letters by photocopying, to see where I'm going wrong. The end result is a new lowercase script at my disposal.....I then repeat the entire process with the uppercase letters. Once I have the whole alphabet down, I then move on to combinations of letters and finally, words. This can all take some time.

There is no point in repeatedly writing out only the easy bits - I concentrate on the hard bits until it all falls into place.