Author Topic: ~:: Hello ::~  (Read 643 times)

Offline glennsmithart

• View Profile
~:: Hello ::~
« on: September 28, 2021, 07:36:00 PM »
Hello members, My name is Glenn, thanks for accepting my request Erica.

Living in Australia, Central Victoria. I owned a Stained-glass studio many years ago 90's, which required me to work on all types of windows including church pieces.
I was popular with clients who were wanting  memorial style windows which included some type of script either etched into the glass or painted on then fired.
I studied with an artist  well versed in stained-glass painting, using silver stain and ink ~ Mainly Gothic styles. The business was sold in 2000.

Fast forward a life time -Last November 2020 I was diagnosed with eye cancer and had the eye removed.
My first trade and love is welding & fabrication, cars bikes, aircraft ect I was very active up until the diagnosis.
This situation has forced me to completely rethink the future & thanks to my neighbor and friend ( Professional Scribe & graphic artist, I have found my way back to calligraphy.

I find Calligraphy beautifully absorbing & challenging, a little more so now with one eye however, I feel  i'm making great basic progress .
I would like to Thank Glo for bringing the site to my attention .

Thank you all , take care Glenn ;)

Offline Erica McPhee

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member
  • Be brave. Love life!
    • View Profile
Re: ~:: Hello ::~
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2021, 05:51:57 PM »
Hi Glenn,
What a fascinating journey. I love stained glass. I am hoping to get some for our square windows but no color, just the beveled diamond tutor style. I suppose that isn’t really stained though.  :D

I am so very sorry to hear about your eye cancer and eye removal. Hopefully all was addressed with the removal.