Author Topic: Copperplate strokes  (Read 1709 times)

Offline ballet

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
Copperplate strokes
« on: May 08, 2015, 03:11:34 PM »
I started practicing what I see on the Pointed Pen Nirvana episode 1d video posted by Erica while
waiting for the arrival of my first oblique pen holder.

Here's what I have:

This is only to get myself familiarised with the order of the strokes. I used a straight pen holder, Mitchell nib, Parker black ink and Rhodia paper.

(1) Is it wiser to keep practicing with the one nib you are most comfortable with instead of switching from one to another at every practice?

(2) Looking at the broad and thin strokes I have in the attached image, what do you think?

(3) For a strong distinction between the broad and thin strokes, I pressed the nib really hard. As such, the strokes are wetter than usual and take a longer time to dry.

(4) As more ink is used now when I make deliberate efforts to press harder at the down strokes, I noticed that the nib has to make very frequent trips to the ink bottle. At some point, it doesn't even make it through one alphabet ( see bottom left). Does this make sense to you? Or are the frequent trips coming from something I didn't do well?

Offline ericp

• View Profile
Re: Copperplate strokes
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2015, 04:37:45 PM »
(4) As more ink is used now when I make deliberate efforts to press harder at the down strokes, I noticed that the nib has to make very frequent trips to the ink bottle. At some point, it doesn't even make it through one alphabet ( see bottom left). Does this make sense to you? Or are the frequent trips coming from something I didn't do well?