Author Topic: My 4 year old is ‘learning to write’ with me  (Read 1121 times)

Offline sanne137

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
My 4 year old is ‘learning to write’ with me
« on: October 27, 2021, 10:22:41 AM »
Hi everyone,

It has been a while since I visited the forum and did any calligraphy, three little boys can make your time and energy fly away ;)
But this holiday week I packed my new walnut ink and oblique pen and I started to write and learn something new again. Years ago I started with Copperplate and modern, and for some reason I did not want to dive into that right now, so I am a brand new Spencerian student :)

My eldest son joined me in practicing yesterday. While I was struggling with not letting my wrist touch the paper and the different shapes, he was trying to join his letters in a letter to his stuffed animal and writing the ‘most perfect k’. Very cosy.

This september he started to learn how to write in cursive (he skipped a grade) and to be honest: I was a bit hesitant when I heard that school is teaching cursive instead of print. I hated learning cursive as a kid and the first opportunity I got I started writing print because that was a lot faster. - Did anyone else dislike learning how to write at school and now loving Calligraphy? -
My son can write in print and in some way it seems more practical to really perfect that instead of learning a whole new, more difficult way, to write. He is also very young and I see him struggle a lot more more with cursive - he is a bit of a perfectionist
When he made mustard he wrote all the labels very clear and now that he is trying to write cursive I need to subtitle what he wrote :D

But it seems that despite all that he really likes it, so what do I know ;)

Now that I am learning something new too I can show him that new things are always hard, even for mommies. Every time we make a mistake we fist-bump, so I hope he’ll be a bit sweeter for himself while learning.