Author Topic: New to Spencerian and full of questions  (Read 3158 times)

Offline flomade

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
New to Spencerian and full of questions
« on: May 13, 2016, 04:03:45 PM »
Hi! I started learning engrosser's script in late January. In March I discovered Spencerian, and was immediately drawn to it. All of the advice I read said to master one script before learning another, so I recently gave up engrossers! I'm learning with the pdf of the New Spencerian Compendium. It's a wonderful text, but a little frustrating because in order to see the drills, I need to navigate away from the accompanying text. Anyone have any advice on getting a copy? I can't seem to print it out. I am currently learning to hold my pen and get control of it. Here are some questions ..

*Is there another book or materials I should/could be learning from?
*What nibs are best? Many of the ones I have are rather flex and I wonder if I shouldn't be using something a bit more rigid?
*Would it be detrimental to me to write the letters before I have full command of the pen when held in the 'proper' position?
*Any general advice on learning spencerian?
*I've got many different guide sheets of different sizes, but none that look like the one my exemplar is written on, with 7 spaces. Is there one I should stick to?

I am eager to learn well, and see improvement. I'm really hoping to get to the nearest group to me, a little more than an hour away, which Elaina (Raayynuh) told me about. But until I get some real time guidance, I'm so grateful for any help or advice!

Flo
« Last Edit: May 13, 2016, 04:29:49 PM by flomade »

Offline AndyT

• Super Hero Member
    • View Profile
Re: New to Spencerian and full of questions
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2016, 06:46:04 PM »
My thoughts, in brief: