Author Topic: Hi there from DC!  (Read 1054 times)

Offline hzw8813

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
Hi there from DC!
« on: April 24, 2019, 03:19:00 PM »
I'm a calligraphy hobbyist living in Washington, DC. I started to practice consistently from start of this year, when I started having eye issues that bar me from looking at a computer for too long. I am currently practicing Copperplate and Spencerian, and have previously picked up a bit of blackletter, though I much prefer pointed pen scripts. When I'm bored at work, I practice business penmanship with a pencil.

I don't have any friends who have even a remotely similar hobby, so I wanted to join to forum to find like minded calligraphy enthusiasts.

I look forward to learning from everyone on this forum!
« Last Edit: April 24, 2019, 04:13:55 PM by hzw8813 »

Offline Bianca M

• Super Hero Member
  • Tempus Fugit
    • View Profile
    • Bianca Mascorro Calligraphy & Art
Re: Hi there from DC!
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2019, 12:38:51 PM »
Welcome to the forum!  If you stick with calligraphy for long enough (and it won't take long), you'll soon have friends to share your hobby with. :)

Offline Erica McPhee

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member
  • Be brave. Love life!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2019, 10:21:34 AM »
Welcome @hzw8813

Sounds like you have taken an interest in a variety of hands! It's so hard to choose one. Welcome to Flourish!  ;D
Warm Regards,
Erica
Lettering & Design Artist
Flourish Forum Shop
Instagram

Offline hzw8813

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2019, 10:25:31 AM »
Erica, I have completely forfeited my broad pen once I fully allowed myself to dive into the pointed pen scripts. Broad pen requires a different muscle memory, and until I get what I want in pointed pen, I'm not dabbling back and forth.