Author Topic: Nib Exchange??  (Read 1524 times)

Offline Copaceticmuzak

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
Nib Exchange??
« on: July 28, 2014, 10:08:45 PM »
Fellow Flourishers-

As a calligraphy newbie, I keep reading about TONS of nibs I should try, and believe me, I do want to try them all. Since a lot of nibs aren't readily available at the craft store, I was wondering if anyone would be interested in doing a nib exchange? I'm still thinking on the logistics of it, but it would be a great way to share nibs and try ones that we aren't familiar with without spending money on a nib we might not use again. I do know nibs aren't terribly expensive, but ordering one online and paying for shipping on a nib or two seems silly.

Let me know if you're interested or if you have a suggestion on how we can get it done!

Offline schin

• Super Hero Member
  • Las Vegas
    • View Profile
    • Openinkstand
Re: Nib Exchange??
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2014, 11:08:59 PM »
This is a great idea! How would it work though?
OPENINKSTAND // website | blog |instagramyoutube

Offline Meghan

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2014, 11:39:49 PM »
As a fellow newbie, I LOVE this idea!

Maybe those who want to exchange can enter the nibs they're willing to trade and which nibs they want and one person could figure out who gets what based on their needs?

Or... we could send in all our nibs for trade and one person could make a "kit" with all the nibs and we could send it from person to person? Each person could keep the entire package for... 2 weeks? 4? And then send it along to the next person. We'd just have a waiting list and people could add to the kit as we go along. Might be easier to send one big kit than paying to ship one or two nibs, since that's the original issue with buying them individually online, right?

Sorry, that was long winded...

Offline Mollyebelle

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2014, 12:05:38 AM »