Author Topic: Salutations -- a North American transcendentalist between the Mountains  (Read 199 times)

Offline Unlikely_scribe

• Freshman Member
    • View Profile
Hello all from the foyer of the Midwest: Denver Colorado. I'm relatively new to our shared addiction, currently practicing my fundamentals: italic with Lloyd Reynolds and copperplate with Eleanor Winters. I like the Principal EF, the Brause 66EF and Gillot 170 for pointed pen stuff, and Brause Bandzug for broad-edged work. I recently got some Mitchell Roundhand nibs, and while I din't care for them too much at first, they seem to be growing on me. As for paper, I'm still just a beginner, so I use mostly Clearprint "vellum" and Strathmore's Calligraphy paper (which I was surprised to find one can see through enough to use guidelines). There's nowhere around here to buy oblique holders, so I've just been rotating my paper like 85 degrees and just using straight holders. I'm up to the two-letter combinations in Winters' book, and am a bit worried I won't be able to transition to an oblique holder when I finally get one. What else. Oh, I got an old drafting table recently? And am finding that working on an incline (at least 45 degrees) makes a huge difference. I'm still struggling with my upstrokes though. Any advice would be super-welcome, as Winters is mute on the subject. On a more personal level, I'm a middle-aged man who lives alone with his cat. I've lived in eight different states, worked in the music industry, the law and education. Loved working in education, not so much the law or music. I began to pursue calligraphy after a spiritual experience I had about eighteen months ago. Quite a lot happened as a result of this experience, and I emerged from it substantially changed. One of the things that I took from it was the realization that I needed to be surrounded in my life by beautiful things, kind of like William Morris? My pursuit of calligraphy is directed towards that goal: increasing the beau